• Greek Title Παραλειπόμενα από τη ζωή ενός ευτυχισμένου ανθρώπου
  • Original Title Outtakes from the life of a happy man
  • Year: 2012
  • Genre: Experimental Film diary
  • Country: USA
  • Duration: 68'
  • Director / Scriptwriter: Jonas Mekas
  • Cinematography: Jonas Mekas
  • Editing: Jonas Mekas
  • Sound: Jonas Mekas
  • Cast: Εμφανίζονται: Friedl Bondy, James Broughton, William S. Burroughs, Richard Foreman, Robert Frank, Flo Jacobs, Ken Jacobs, Peter Kubelka
  • Production: Jonas Mekas
  • Color: Color
  • Audio: Sound
  • Language: English
  • Format: Μη διαθέσιμη πληροφορία
  • Print Source: Re:Voir

"A motion picture composed of brief diaristic scenes not used in completed films from the years 1960-2000; and self-referential video footage taped during the editing. Brief glimpses of family, friends, girl-friends, the City, seasons of the year, travels. Occasionally I talk, reminisce, or play music I taped during those earlier years, plus more recent piano improvisations by Auguste Varkalis. It’s a kind of autobiographical, diaristic poem, celebration of happiness and life. I consider myself a happy man." (Jonas Mekas)

Jonas Mekas (1922-2019) was born in Lithuania and, with his brother Adolfas, was held captive in a forced labor camp during World War II. He immigrated to New York in the late 1940s. There he became an emblematic figure of the American experimental cinema and the avant-garde scene, making mainly diary films but also founding magazines, collectives and experimental film archives. He was the first director of the famous organization for experimental cinema Anthology Film Archives. Until the end of his life he wrote poetry and published books on cinema, made diaristic cinema with film but also with the new digital media.



Member of